Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Book of the Month: Crown and Covenant Series


Duncan's War (book 1)
     Duncan M'Kethe loves his family and his faith and is willing, even eager, to defend them from the vicious talons of King Charles II. Yet his father insists that the Scriptures instruct us to love our enemies. How does he balance this with defending his fellow Covenanters?

King's Arrow (book 2)
     Angus M'Kethe (younger brother of Duncan) is renowned for his skill with the bow, which he puts to good use protecting his sheep from crows that prey on the lamps. But with bloody Claverhouse and his Royalist allies, Angus' skill may be needed in doing more than killing crows.

Rebel's Keep (book 3)
     John Graham of Claverhouse is even more determined to wipe out the rebellious Covenanters. Will the M'Kethe family survive his murderous schemes? Will they have to flee their beloved Scotland?


     Douglas Bond is one of the best historical fiction writers I've read. Once you pick up these books, you won't want to put them down. What I especially love is how he weaves theological discussions into the storyline. It makes for an intriguing and edifying read.


     I honestly can't think of any reasons why you shouldn't get this series!

My rating for this series is:

5 out of 5 stars (I loved it and would recommend it to anyone.)

Stay tuned for the next review of the follow-up series by Douglas Bond: Faith and Freedom Trilogy!


  1. Hmmm...that's a pretty good review if there are no cons! Thanks for sharing.

    1. You're welcome! It was a very enjoyable series. :)

  2. Oooh, I haven't heard of these yet. I'll have to check them out! :)

    katie grace
    a writer's faith

  3. this sounds like such an interesting series!
    thank you for the review, Gloria!
    be blessed! <3

  4. I have always loved these books! They are so good!