Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Book of the Month: Faith and Freedom Series


Guns of Thunder (book 1)
     In the first book of the Faith & Freedom series (the sequel to the Crown & Covenant series), we're introduced to the great grandson of Duncan M'Kethe: Ian. Colonial America is on the eve of the French and Indian War but between tediously tilling the family plot of land, defending the corn from hungry birds, and attending grammar school, Ian has little time to worry about the pending conflict. But when his best friend, Roland, is captured by the French during the Raid on Canso, Ian enlists in the army and along with his Indian mentor Watokoog, sets off with the colonial army to capture Louisbourg and hopefully free Roland.

Guns of the Lion (book 2)
     Ian M'Kethe's life-long dream of going to college is finally coming to pass. Before he leaves, his grandfather gives him a letter from a relative in Scotland....
     Gavin Crookshank, a loyal covenanter, is captured by dragoons while tending his sheep and conscripted into King George's navy. After distinguishing himself as an excellent marksman, Gavin is sent back to his beloved Scotland... but as a spy for the king. Torn between love for his country and the desire for peace, Gavin embarks on his most dangerous mission yet: spy for the king's army while secretly spying on the king's army as well.

Guns of Providence (book 3)
     Skilled with the longbow and violin, and filled with patriotism, Sandy M'Kethe (son of Ian M'Kethe) sets off to aid his fellow countrymen in the American Revolution. After a long stalemate with the British, the American army occupies Dorchester Heights and is finally able to liberate Boston from British occupation. Released from service, Sandy and his fellow soldier Salem decide to join the fledgling American navy. Thus, they set out to harass his majesty's ships aboard the Providence, captained by the legendary John Paul Jones.


     As usual, Bond does an excellent job of intricately weaving Biblical doctrine and historical information into a thrilling tale. The end of the last book nearly had me in tears, but I won't spoil it!


     The second book (Guns of the Lion) had more romance than the others. While terribly thirsty and feeling near dead, Gavin meets the daughter of a clan chief who helps him and he quickly falls in love. However, he has to get back to spying and they never meet again in the book (though we learn in the last book they do indeed get married).

My rating for this series is:

4 1/2 out of 5 stars (I loved this series and would recommend it to older audiences due to some romance)


  1. I need to get my hands on these! I've heard of them but haven't read them yet.

    1. If you have the Crown & Covenant series, then you'll definitely need to get this series!

  2. They sound like captivating stories. Thanks for sharing your review.

    1. They are indeed. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. wonderful review!
    sounds like an interesting read...